Monday, July 29, 2013

Israel's Legion of Dishonor



The Legion of Disgrace and Dishonor:  The following are the members of the Israeli cabinet who voted in favor of the Get out of Jail Free plan of Benjamin Netanyahu to allow murderers of Jews to go free and resume their murders of Jews:


Voted in favor: Prime Minster Benjamin Netanyahu, Defense Minister Moshe Ya'alon, Interior Minister Gideon Sa'ar, Minister for Strategic Affairs Yuval Steinitz, Internal Security Minister Itzhak Aharonovitch, Immigrant Absorption Minister Sofa Landver (Likud- Beiteinu), Finance Minister Yair Lapid, Health Minister Yael German, Science and Technology Minister Ya'akov Peri, Welfare Minister Meir Cohen, Education Minister Shai Piron (Yesh Atid), Justice Minister Tzipi Livni and Environmental Protection Minister Amir Peretz (Hatnua).  


Note how this list includes people who had been widely considered earlier to be people of principle, including Rabbi Piron, Moshe Ya'alon, and Gideon Sa'ar.  I regret to inform you that such erstwhile judgments have now been proven false.


The Legion of Double-Talk:  The following cabinet ministers abstained on this vote:


Minister Limor Livnat and Silvan Shalom abstained.

Refusing to oppose a national disgrace is hardly a badge of principle and honor.


The Legion of Honor:  These are the cabinet ministers who opposed the proposal and so should be regarded as people of principle deserving of future support:


Voted against: Transportation Minister Yisrael Katz, Home Front Minister Gilad Erdan, Tourism Minister Uzi Landau, Agriculture Minister Yair Shamir (Likud-Beiteinu), Economy Minister Naftali Bennett, Housing Minister Uri Ariel, Senior Citizen Minister Uri Orbach (Habayit Hayehudi).

Not a single member of the Likud or Yesh Atid resigned his or her Knesset seat in protest at this disgrace.  This includes Moshe Feiglin.


<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?